About the delegation

Biuro Wielkopolski w Brukseli
Polish delegation to the European Committee of the Regions

The Poles have been participating in the works of the European Committee of the Regions since July 2003, when 95 observers members from 10 countries, which were to enter the European Union on the 1st May 2004, were accepted in this EU body. Since the latter date Polish delegates have been  participating in the CoR meetings as full members.

The works of Polish delegation

The principal task of the members of our national delegation to the European Committee of the Regions is the representation of Polish local and regional governments interests on the European forum. They fulfil it by the participation - by preparation of opinions - in the EU legislative process and by the resolutions taken up by the CoR upon its own initiative. The tasks of the CoR members also include informing the EU forum about the issues which are important to the regional and local authorities in Poland, as well as the promotion of activities taken up by the European Union in their own environment in their home country.

Although Polish delegation members, just like the representatives of other countries, belong to supranational political groups (at present there are five such groups), they participate in the national delegation meetings in order to inform one another about their works and to discuss the issues which are the most important from the Polish perspective. The representatives of the European Commission, the Permanent Representation of the Republic of Poland to the EU and of other institutions are also often invited to Polish delegation meetings. Apart from the participation in the commissions meetings and plenary sessions, the delegates also participate in different conferences, seminars and meetings organized in co-operation with the CoR both in Brussels and in many EU member states.

Under the Polish presidency of the EU Council in the 2nd half year of 2011, the delegation members initiated a number of significant events, organized by the CoR in Poland. Upon the invitation of Marek Woźniak, the inauguration meeting of the Permanent Conference of the Regional and Local Authorities for the Eastern Partnership (CORLEAP) took place in Poznań on September 8th, and one day later there was an external meeting of the European Committee of the Regions’ Bureau. Upon the initiative of Adam Struzik,  the COTER Commission was in session on October 19th in Warsaw, and the next day the same Commission – thanks to Leszek Świętalski and Jerzy Zająkała – organized a seminar “What kind of cohesion policy should there be after 2013?”, which was organized under the 1st European Congress of Rural Communes.

The works of Polish delegation are co-ordinated by the Information Office of the Wielkopolska Region in Brussels.

The composition of Polish delegation

Polish delegation to the European Committee of the Regions has 21 full members and 21 alternate members. It is the fifth biggest national representations in the CoR.

Head of the Polish delegation is Marek Woźniak – President of Wielkopolska Region. He has held this function since April 2008 (and he has been a CoR member since February 2006). At the same time he has been a Bureau member and the vice-president of the CoR.

The present composition of the delegation:

*members (and commissions they work in):
Gustaw Brzezin – President of Warmia-Mazury Region (ECON, ENVE)
Jarosław Dworzański – President of Podlaskie Regional Assembly (ECON, NAT)
Olgierd Geblewicz – President of West Pomeranian Region (CIVEX, NAT)
Paweł Grzybowski - Mayor of Rypin (NAT, SEDEC)
Adam Sebastian Jarubas – President of Świętokrzyskie Region (ECON, SEDEC)
Lech Jaworski – Member of Warsaw City Council (ECON, SEDEC)
Marek Olszewski - Mayor of Lubicz Municipality (ENVE, SEDEC)
Władysław Ortyl - President of Podkarpackie Region (CIVEX, ENVE)
Zbigniew Podraza – Mayor of Dąbrowa Górnicza (SEDEC, NAT)
Sławomir Sosnowski -- President of Lubelskie Region (ENVE, SEDEC)
Witold Stępień –President of Łódzkie Region (COTER, ENVE)
Dariusz Strugała – Mayor of Jaraczewo Town and Municipality (NAT, ENVE)
Mieczysław Struk – President of Pomeranian Region (COTER, NAT)
Adam Struzik – President of Mazovia Region (COTER, ENVE)
Stanisław Szwabski – Member of Gdynia City Council (COTER, CIVEX)
Marek Tramś – Head of Polkowice District (SEDEC, CIVEX)
Tadeusz Truskolaski – Mayor of Białystok (COTER, ECON)
Ludwik Kajetan Węgrzyn – Head of Bochnia District (ECON, CIVEX)
Marek Woźniak – President of Wielkopolska Region (COTER, CIVEX)
Dariusz Wróbel – Mayor of Opole Lubelskie (CIVEX, NAT)

* Deputy Members:
Adam Banaszak – Vice-president of Kujawsko-Pomorskie Regional Assembly
Stanisław Bodys – Mayor of Rejowiec Fabryczny
Rafał Bruski - Mayor of Bydgoszcz
Andrzej Buła - President of Opolskie Region
Marian Adam Buras- Mayor of Morawica Municipality
Piotr Całbecki – President of Kujawsko-Pomorskie Region
Bogdan Dyjuk - Member of the Board of Podlaskie Region
Robert Godek –Head of Strzyżów District
Arkadiusz Godlewski - Member of Katowice City Council
Marzena Kempińska – Member of Świecie District Council
Józef Kotyś – Member of Opolskie Regional Assembly
Jacek Krupa – President of Małopolska Region
Andrzej Kunt –Mayor of Kostrzyn nad Odrą
Lucjan Kuźniar - Member of Podkarpackie Regional Assembly
Mirosław Lech – Mayor of Korycin Municipality
Marcin Ociepa - President of Opole City Council
Cezary Przybylski - President of Lower Silesia Region
Wojciech Saługa – President of Śląskie Region
Joachim Smyła - Head of the Lubliniec District
Grzegorz Wolnik - Vice-president of Śląskie Regional Assembly
Hanna Zdanowska –Mayor of Łódź

Also see:
- the composition of Polish delegation at the beginning of the 2006-2009 term
- the composition of  Polish delegation at the end of 2006-2009 term

The Nice Treaty signed in 2001 established that the CoR members must be elected members of a local or a regional body or be politically accountable to an elected local or regional assembly.
Polish delegates to the CoR are designated by the following local government corporations: the Association of the Regions of the Republic of Poland (10 members and the same number of deputy members), the Association of Polish Poviats (3), the Association of Polish Cities (3), the Union of Polish Metropolises (2), the Association of Rural Communes of the Republic of Poland (2), the Union of Polish Towns (1).